web analytics

The 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature

Nobel_medal_dsc06171Alice Munro won the 2013 Nobel Prize in literature, the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences announced Thursday. The prize motivation as follows: “master of the contemporary short story”.

Alice Munro, born in Wingham, Ontario, is a Canadian English-language writer. Since her debut in 1968, she has exclusively published collections of short stories with the reservation that her second short story collection Lives of Girls and Women (1971) has been described as a novel by some critics.

Original short story collections:

Dance of the Happy Shades – 1968 (winner of the 1968 Governor General’s Award for Fiction)
Lives of Girls and Women – 1971
Something I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You – 1974
Who Do You Think You Are? – 1978 (winner of the 1978 Governor General’s Award for Fiction; also published as The Beggar Maid)
The Moons of Jupiter – 1982 (nominated for a Governor General’s Award)
The Progress of Love – 1986 (winner of the 1986 Governor General’s Award for Fiction)
Friend of My Youth – 1990 (winner of the Trillium Book Award)
Open Secrets – 1994 (nominated for a Governor General’s Award)
The Love of a Good Woman – 1998 (winner of the 1998 Giller Prize)
Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage – 2001 (recently republished as “Away From Her”)
Runaway – 2004 (winner of the 2004 Giller Prize) ISBN 1-4000-4281-X
The View from Castle Rock – 2006
Too Much Happiness – 2009
Dear Life – 2012